Live Helper Chat support forum.. Old google groups forum can be found here

You are not logged in.

Announcement

#1 2020-06-12 10:45:05

herbert12
Member
Registered: 2016-08-31
Posts: 10

Widget does not detect status change for current website visitors

Thanks for this amazing tool! smile

I have successfully upgraded from v3.24 to v3.38 and now I'm using the new embed code.

Configuration

LHC_API.args = {mode:'widget',lhc_base_url:'//example.com/index.php/',wheight:450,wwidth:350,pheight:520,pwidth:500,check_messages:true};

Here I noticed two bugs if a user is already visiting the website

1) if operater goes online, nothing happens on the website

Steps to reproduce
- Operator is offline
- User visits website
- Operator goes online

Expected
- in v3.24 the online status indicator is shown on website automatically

Result
- in v3.38 the online status indicator is not shown automatically and the website must be refreshed/visited again

2) if operator goes offline, nothing happens on website

Steps to reproduce
- User visits website
- Operator goes offline

Expected
- in v3.24 the online status indicator disappears automatically, user does not see anything chat related

Result
- in v3.38 the online status indicator does not disappear automatically and the website must be refreshed/visited again

Please fix, thanks!

Last edited by herbert12 (2020-06-12 10:45:25)

Offline

#2 2020-06-12 10:48:10

remdex
Administrator
From: Lithuania
Registered: 2012-09-23
Posts: 3,063
Website

Re: Widget does not detect status change for current website visitors

You should go to Chat configuration -> Visitor activity -> Interval between chat status checks in seconds, 0 disabled.

There is interval how often we check is anyone online and change widget status.

There is nothing to fix...

Offline

#3 2020-06-12 10:54:40

herbert12
Member
Registered: 2016-08-31
Posts: 10

Re: Widget does not detect status change for current website visitors

Thanks for the fast reply!
I did not change this setting, I always had it at 5 seconds and it worked well in the past

if operator is online and I refresh the page,  I see request in network tools every 5 seconds to

https://example.com/index.php/widgetrestapi/chatcheckstatus?vid=abcde&uactiv=1

with response

{"change_status":true,"online":true}

if operator goes offline, the response is

{"change_status":true,"online":false}

but the widget is still visible - until page is reloaded

Last edited by herbert12 (2020-06-12 10:55:26)

Offline

#4 2020-06-12 10:55:38

remdex
Administrator
From: Lithuania
Registered: 2012-09-23
Posts: 3,063
Website

Re: Widget does not detect status change for current website visitors

And if you click on widget is it leave a message form?

I think you just hide widget if it's offline? Perhaps missed that scenario hmm. But widget color for sure should change to offline one hmm

Last edited by remdex (2020-06-12 10:56:32)

Offline

#5 2020-06-12 11:18:52

remdex
Administrator
From: Lithuania
Registered: 2012-09-23
Posts: 3,063
Website

Re: Widget does not detect status change for current website visitors

Ok, so tested. Yes indeed widget goes to offline state instead of hiding. I'll see what I can do smile

Offline

#6 2020-06-12 11:25:30

herbert12
Member
Registered: 2016-08-31
Posts: 10

Re: Widget does not detect status change for current website visitors

Operator is offline, but widget is still here and color does not change.
If I click it, I get "leave message form" - but as you can see from my configuration I don't want this.

more testing

Test 1: operator is offline, user visits website
v3.24 - background check with ?ts=1234 runs every 5 seconds
v3.38 - old and new embed code: background check is not running

Test 2: operator is offline, user visits page, operator goes online
v3.24 - widget is shown automatically, no page reload needed
v3.38 - old and new embed code: widget is not shown automatically, user must visit website again or reload page

Test 3: operator is online, user visits page, operator goes offline
v3.24 - widget is hidden automatically, background checks (?ts=...) run
v3.38 - old embed code: widget is hidden automatically, background checks (?ts=...) run
v3.38 - new embed code: widget is not hidden automatically, color does not change, user can leave message although option is disabled, background checks (checkstatus?vid=...) run

if you need more pls let me know

It would be great if background checks work again like in v3.24 so that if operator goes online the widget on website always shows without user needing to reload page
Thanks!

Offline

#7 2020-06-12 11:26:16

remdex
Administrator
From: Lithuania
Registered: 2012-09-23
Posts: 3,063
Website

Re: Widget does not detect status change for current website visitors

All good. I found the root cause. So you will have to wait untill I fix it smile

Offline

#8 2020-06-12 14:52:44

remdex
Administrator
From: Lithuania
Registered: 2012-09-23
Posts: 3,063
Website

Re: Widget does not detect status change for current website visitors

Please update now. Related changes it should cover all possible scenarios.

https://github.com/LiveHelperChat/liveh … dbfbfab7d7

Offline

Board footer